| Who makes it | Blender Lab, part of the Blender projectblender.org: MCP Server | The Blender developers. Anthropic lists it in Claude's connectors (April 2026).Anthropic: Claude for Creative Work | Siddharth Ahuja, as a community project "not made by Blender". Now published as MCP for Blender.GitHub: ahujasid/blender-mcp | The 3D-Agent team, with its own agent framework |
|---|
| What you install | A Blender add-on, an LLM client, and the MCP server (a .mcpb bundle for clients that support it)blender.org: MCP Server | Claude Desktop, the Blender connector (Customize > Connectors), and Blender's MCP Server add-onClaude Academy: Blender connector | The uv package manager, the server in your AI client's MCP settings, and a Blender add-onGitHub: ahujasid/blender-mcp | The 3D-Agent desktop app. It installs and updates its own Blender extension.3D-Agent docs: connect to Blender |
|---|
| Blender version | Blender 5.1 or laterblender.org: MCP Server | Anthropic's tutorial says 4.2 or later; Blender's add-on page says 5.1 or laterClaude Academy: Blender connector | Blender 3.0 or laterGitHub: ahujasid/blender-mcp | Blender 4.2 or later3D-Agent docs: install and requirements |
|---|
| Which AI does the work | Any MCP-compatible LLM client you choose; Blender's guide uses llama.cppblender.org: MCP Server | Claude, in Claude DesktopClaude Academy: Blender connector | Any LLM through an MCP client, such as Claude Desktop, Claude Code, Codex, Cursor or VS CodeGitHub: ahujasid/blender-mcp | 3D-Agent's own agent; the models come with the plan3D-Agent pricing |
|---|
| Do you bring your own AI subscription or API key? | Yes, you bring the LLM client and model, local or hostedblender.org: MCP Server | You need a Claude account; any plan, including FreeClaude Academy: Blender connector | Yes, you bring the MCP client and its modelGitHub: ahujasid/blender-mcp | No. Paid plans include prompts; there is no API key to configure.3D-Agent pricing |
|---|
| Cost | No price on the page; the add-on installs from the Blender Lab repositoryblender.org: MCP Server | Available on every Claude plan, including FreeClaude Academy: Blender connector | Free and MIT-licensed; an optional paid Premium adds AI model generationGitHub: ahujasid/blender-mcp | Basic $19, Pro $29, Ultra $89 per month (100, 200, 800 prompts). No free tier.3D-Agent pricing |
|---|
| Platforms | Not stated in the sources we checked | Claude Desktop only (macOS, Windows, Linux downloads), not claude.ai in a browserClaude: download | Install steps for macOS, Windows and LinuxGitHub: ahujasid/blender-mcp | macOS 12 or later, Windows 10 or later3D-Agent docs: install and requirements |
|---|
| Roblox Studio | Not stated in the sources we checked | Not stated in the sources we checked | Not stated in the sources we checked | Yes: in an open Roblox Studio place it reads and edits scripts, runs Luau, inserts models and playtests3D-Agent docs: Roblox |
|---|
| Sub-agentsFor an MCP server, this depends on the AI client you connect. | Not stated in the sources we checked | Not stated in the sources we checked | Not stated in the sources we checked | Pro: 2, Ultra: 4 (none on Basic)3D-Agent pricing |
|---|
| Can other AI tools call it? | Yes. It is an MCP server, so any MCP-compatible client can connect.blender.org: MCP Server | The connector is Claude's; the server behind it works with other MCP clients, including Claude CodeClaude Academy: Blender connector | Yes. It is an MCP server for any MCP client.GitHub: ahujasid/blender-mcp | Ultra plan: Claude Code, Claude Desktop, Cursor and Codex call one tool, 3d_agent(task), on its local MCP server. Each call is a normal prompt.3D-Agent docs: external agents |
|---|